Ellis South End Neighborhood Association 


 The Arthur Howe Award is named after Arthur F. Howe, a long-time Montgomery Street resident, a founding member and past President of the Ellis South End Neighborhood Association. Arthur was instrumental in saving the South End from the wrecking ball of urban renewal and worked tirelessly to make the neighborhood into the wonderful place it is today. We are all indebted to Arthur and we cherish his memory. Since it was created in 2002, the Award has been presented today annually to outstanding individuals, "For improving the quality of life while preserving the character of Boston's Unique and Historic South End." Winners are selected by the Executive Committee from suggestions made by the Directors and the memberships at large.


  • Susan Park 2002
  • Owen Carlson 2003
  • Kathleen McKenna 2004
  • Albert Rondeau 2005
  • Mel King and Kevin White 2006
  • Joe Park 2007
  • Frieda Garcia 2008
  • David Lapin 2009
  • Chris Hayes 2010
  • Peter Pogorski 2011
  • Deborah Backus 2012
  • Leo Delaney 2013
  • Thomas Boyden 2014
  • William T. Gregor 2015
  • Ken Kruckemeyer 2016
  • Paul Duffy 2017
  • Betsy Hall 2018
  • Byron Rushing 2019
  • Jane Siegel 2022


The Ellis South End Neighborhood Association: P.O. Box 170731, Boston, MA, 02117 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software